The Sir William Mackenzie Inn is a national historic site and landmark with a long and fascinating history spanning back to 1888. The property, located in Kirkfield, ON, was Sir William Mackenzie’s country estate from 1888–1923. He and Lady Mackenzie raised nine children here, and at the turn of the 20th century, the estate was nearly 1000 acres with farmland, beef and dairy herds, prized cattle and horses, and even a private 9-hole golf course. Thirteen servants maintained the home and extensive gardens. The manor boasted of many visits from aristocrats and politicians of the period.
In 1927, four years after Sir William’s death, his son Joseph sold the estate to the Sisters of St. Joseph for one dollar. From 1927–1977 it was St. Margaret’s Convent and School for Girls. In 1934 a wing was added to the mansion and the original gatehouse was rebuilt as a two-story brick building used for classrooms. We’re fortunate enough to still have students who attended the school visit us in the summer months and share their stories of the early years here from the 1930s–1960s.
In the last three decades, several owners have each restored and upgraded aspects of the Inn. Today, with 12 acres and at nearly 13,000 square feet, the Inn provides guests with an ideal setting for weddings, romantic getaways, retreats, and other private and corporate functions. One of the Inn’s most distinctive features is its spacious verandah. Running across the front and side of the mansion, it offers a wonderful place to relax and soak up the ambiance of this grand and historic home. “Apostles’ Row” is an outdoor cathedral of trees planted by Lady Mackenzie over a century ago. It is a popular spot for wedding ceremonies with its soaring Norway spruce trees.